Diagnostic trace provides detailed information about how the application server components run within a managed process. This trace allows administrators to examine processes in the application server and diagnose various issues.
Tracing can be started while the server is running using Runtime Diagnostic Trace or when the server is started using Configuration Diagnostic Trace. The trace outputs can be directed to either a file or a memory buffer.
Tracing has a significant impact on performance and must only be enabled temporarily for problem determination purposes.
To enable diagnostic traces, use the deployment manager's administrative console, navigating to Troubleshooting > Application servers > server_name > Diagnostic trace service.
You can configure the following parameters for diagnostic tracing:
If this option is selected, the trace data is not logged or recorded anywhere. All other handlers (including handlers registered by applications) still have an opportunity to process these traces.
Specifies that the trace output should be written to an in-memory circular buffer.
Maximum Buffer Size specifies the number of entries, in thousands, that can be cached in the buffer. When this number is exceeded, older entries are overwritten by new entries.
Dump File Name defines the name of the file to which the memory buffer will be written when it is dumped. NOTE: This option is only available from the Runtime tab.
Use Dump button to write the contents of the trace memory buffer to the trace directory. NOTE: This option is only available from the Runtime tab.
Specifies to write the trace output to a self-managing log file. The self-managing log file writes messages to the file until the specified maximum file size is reached. When the file reaches the specified size, logging is temporarily suspended and the log file is closed and renamed. The new name is based on the original name of the file, plus a timestamp qualifier that indicates when the renaming occurred. Once the renaming is complete, a new, empty log file with the original name is reopened, and logging resumes. No messages are lost as a result of the rollover, although a single message may be split across the two files.
Trace Output Format:
Preserves only basic trace information. Select this option to minimize the amount of space taken up by the trace output.
Preserves more specific trace information. Select this option to see detailed trace information for use in troubleshooting and problem determination.
Preserves trace information in the same format as produced by Showlog tool.
Change log detail levels. These are used to set up trace strings.